Jason Pohren Memorial Scholarship Winners

We in the Hancock County Central Republican Committee have just began to present Scholarships to our Hancock County graduating seniors.  The Scholarship was named The Jason Pohren Memorial Scholarship in honor of our late States Attorney and fellow Precinct Committeeman.  Jason passed away unexpectedly on March 19, 2018; however this scholarship program was well underway prior to his death.  Jason was very involved in establishing our Scholarship.  Jason was the State’s Attorney for Hancock County and he believed in education.  He had a gift of bringing people together.  Jason began his career as a pipefitter then went on to become a police officer in Hamilton.  He went to law school and became a lawyer and then our states attorney.  His own education is a credit to his determination to be the best that he could be in life.

The following are the winners of the 2018 Jason Pohren Memorial Scholarship.

John McIlmoil Hamilton High School
Hamilton High School – John McIlmoil
Teddi Clark Illini West High School
Illini West High School – Dorothea “Teddi” Clark
Abigail Kerr Southestern High School
Southeastern High School – Abigail Kerr
Justin Roskamp Warsaw High School
Warsaw High School – Justin Roskamp